Uncategorized

The Semester Starts

So, my third semester of grad school starts tomorrow, which has led me to think about what I want for the semester.

All I know for sure is that I want to maintain my 4.0. I have a legitimate fear of not maintaining my 4.0. After talking to some classmates the other day and finding out that they’d both gotten an A- in our hardest class last semester (maybe the hardest grad class of all here), I freaked out and double checked to make sure that I did, in fact, get the A that I did. Paranoid, I know. But I kick ass and take names. I kill it in grad school.

This semester I teach before I have classes. I teach at 8:00 a.m. MWF. I always seem to get the 8:00 a.m. slot despite the fact that I am not a morning person. Grad student food chain, I guess. Morning classes do have their advantages though. Anyone can make it to class at noon. It takes much more of an effort to make it to an 8:00 a.m. class and it feels more like a team effort than an individual effort in class. Good start for building a community. Also, when I took the class that I am teaching back in 2010, I had this class spring semester MWF at 8:00, so, the class time also creates some nostalgia.

Things I am worried about going into this semester (because I am not used to them) are quizzes, tests, and oral exams. I worry that these will be the things that mess me up in grad school, but I know that I can’t think like that. I can make it through these things. I can ace the exams and tests and quizzes! I got this.

I’m excited to have a literature class again after having a literature break last semester. I have a good, diverse schedule this semester and I am excited for it.

Also, I would like to write more blogs, so, let’s see if that happens.

So, although I have fears, all I can say to the upcoming semester is: BRING IT!

 

Leave a Reply

