All the Fails

Apparently, I can’t stand up and hold inanimate objects at the same time. I dropped both my keys and my phone while doing so today. I dropped my keys when I was standing in the hallway talking to a professor and my phone while waiting in line at the bookstore for coffee (thank god for fiberglass screen protectors).

I started this morning by going to get coffee at It’s a Grind. While ordering my drink, I presented them with the Dutch Bros stamp card instead of the It’s a Grind one. That was the first fail of the day, but that was also at 6:00 a.m. so I wasn’t holding it against myself at the time.

Today was also the first day I had interns observe my composition class. Sure, they are fellow grad students, but it made me nervous and I don’t feel like I brought my A-game today. (I really need to figure out the best way to run my class. I feel like I overplan and still have time left at the end. I’ve gone from teaching a 1 hour and 15 minute class to a 50 minute class. Today, I used a lesson plan that took up the entire hour and 15 minutes last semester, but took around 45 minutes today. I need to figure out how to best serve this particular group of students so that they can get the most out of the class (and I can look good in front of my colleagues. . .).)

I have my first quiz on Wednesday, so, after I taught I went to Starbucks to study. I killed it at the studying part, but not so much at the being an intelligent life form part.

IMG_4174.JPG

When I went to go order my tea, the barista asked me what size I wanted. My response? “Hot.” Apparently, that is a size now. I got that straightened out and then enjoyed drinking my tea.

While at Starbucks, I got an email from a colleague mentioning that we have a meeting tomorrow, February 7 (tomorrow is January 31). I was glad to know I wasn’t the only person having a hard time functioning in the world today.

At least I am killing it at studying and will be ready for my quiz on Wednesday, which I was worried about since I have been out of the linguistics game for so long. I might fail in a lot of areas, but I will always excel in keeping my butt in the chair long enough to get some good studying in.

. . .And if all of that wasn’t enough, I just walked by my office and thought “Hey, I wonder who has the same poster as me on their door. . .” Me. It was me.

It’s only 3 o’clock. I am curious to see what other fails sneak there way into my day. At the end of the day, I am always grateful that I can look back on it and laugh at myself a little bit. If nothing else, I always have a laugh.

Leave a Reply

