Nobody Quits in April, but People Quit in July

I have a professor that always tells us that when we are tired of school in April, we can’t quit. If we are still tired after we have had sleep and showered and it’s July and we still want to quit, then it’s OK. It’s this month, however, that has reinforced my love of school. In April, it was hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel at moments.

A few weeks ago, I had a conversation with a friend from grad school who is still feeling like she felt in April. She says the idea of going back to school in the fall makes her want to cry. I think it was that moment when I realized just how right school felt to me. I can’t wait to go back to school.

I’ve been in situations where I have been that unhappy and, let me tell you, it’s not worth it. If what you do is not what you love, then go back and do what you love. 

I took some time off before grad school. I worked full-time in a decent job in the legal field. I worked for a great lawyer, but I did not enjoy the work. It wasn’t something I wanted to get up and do everyday. I can honestly say that when I go to bed at night now, I know the academic texts I want to read the following day, even in summer.

So, if you aren’t doing what you love, then go out and change it.

Leave a Reply

