teaching · Uncategorized

The Syllabus

I just finished my syllabus and calendar for this coming semester and I am super excited. Although I liked the readings I taught last semester, I realized that I was a lot more excited about my assignments and I wanted to balance that out.

I found some readings that I love. Teaching First-Year Composition, I have steered away from things that might be controversial among my students, often choosing readings that focus on academic composition. Not anymore. My composition course is based around a bound Inquiry project around digital culture and I decided to bring in articles about digital culture to get my students thinking about possible ideas, instead of my standard Wikipedia in the Classroom or Blogging in Academia (although I did keep some of those).

As with any new syllabus, I’m sure there will be successes and failures. It will be an interesting experiment in seeing how I handle teaching stuff that may have an edge of controversy. As if an article on wikipedia in education wasn’t controversial enough.

I think I’ve also decided to come to their social media level and see how snapchatting works in an academic setting. This is coming from someone who has maybe sent four snapchats in her entire life, all of her cat. I’m going to try to snapchat out what’s on the board and what their assignments are and such. I’ve been doing a bit of reading on snapchat in the classroom and I want to give it a try.

This will be an interesting semester. I’m excited to see what is ahead of me.

In terms of this blog, I want it to take a new direction as well. I want it to trace my teaching, my PhD application process, my grad school life, and, of course, my fails. I may also be bringing in a guest writer or two.

What is everyone else looking forward to this school year?

2 thoughts on “The Syllabus

  1. Maybe it’s my naivete, but in my classes I haven’t steered away from controversial subjects. In political science, everything can be controversial, so why not just embrace it? I guess my thought is I would rather my students be talking about it in a safe place where I can moderate it if we get too out of hand than to pretend differences don’t exist.
    And Snapchat in the classroom?! As someone who uses Snapchat to send a lot of photos about her dog, that sounds awesome. I’m excited to hear how it turns out.

    Like

    1. I think that’s a great way to look at it. I’m really excited about the texts that I am teaching and I do feel like one of my strengths is being able to build a good community in my classroom. I have yet to have a class where people were disrespectful for each other and I hope this semester will be no different.

      I will definitely keep you updated on using Snapchat! When I get it all set up, I can send you my username and you can follow it, if you would like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

